Prof. Irwin King Awarded the 2021 INNS Dennis Gabor Award

Prof. Irwin King is the recipient of the 2021 International Neural Network Society (INNS) Dennis Gabor Award (A Lifetime Contribution Award) at the International Joint Conference on Neural Networks (IJCNN2022) within the IEEE World Congress on Computational Intelligence (WCCI2022) in Padova, Italy.  The INNS Dennis Gabor Award is given in recognition of the exceptional contributions to engineering applications of neural networks.  More specifically, the outstanding work is related to the theory and applications of machine learning in social computing.  Past recipients include renowned scholars such as Shun-ichi Amari, Tomaso Poggio, Teuvo Kohonen, Vladimir Vapnik, Robert Hecht-Nielsen, Nikola Kasabov, Mitsuo Kawato, Derong Liu, Risto Miikkulainen, and more.

The INNS is the oldest premiere organization for individuals interested in a theoretical and computational understanding of the brain and applying that knowledge to develop new and more effective forms of machine intelligence. INNS was formed in 1987 by the leading scientists in the Artificial Neural Networks (ANN) field. The Society currently has more than 1,000 members – researchers, academics, industry professionals and students from around the world.