Research Excellence

Prof. Heng Pheng Ann and His Team Develop Artificial Intelligent Systems Improving Efficiency in Diagnosing Lung Cancer and Breast Cancer through Automated Medical Image Analysis (9/2017)
Prof. Heng Pheng Ann and his team won the best paper award of Medical Image Analysis in the 20th International Conference on Medical Image Computing and Computer Assisted Intervention 2017 (MedIA-MICCAI'17)
Mr. ZHANG Hang, Mr. ZHU Fengyuan, Mr. LI Haocheng, Prof. YOUNG Fung Yu, and Prof. YU Bei received the Best Paper Award at ACM International Symposium on Physical Design (ISPD 2017)
Prof. Patrick P. C. Lee received the Distinguished Collaborator Award of Noah's Ark Lab (2/2017)
Mr. GAN Junhao and Prof. Yufei TAO won the Best Paper Award at ACM Conference on Management of Data (SIGMOD) 2015 (6/2015)
Computer Science and Engineering Students Won the Third Place of the ISPD 2015 Blockage-Aware Detailed Routing-Driven Placement Contest (04/2015)
Mr. NG Chak Sing won the Best Paper Award in PDP2015 (03/2015)
Computer Engineering students won the champion in the ICCAD 2014 International Contest
Mr. Liang Wang won the Best Paper Award in VLSI-SoC'14 (10/2014)
LIU Xueting and MAO Xiangyu received the Second Prize Award in the IEEE Postgraduate Student Paper Contest 2013 (2/2014)
Jianping Shi won the 2013 Microsoft Research Asia Fellowship Award (10/2013)
Mr. Xiaocheng HU, Prof. Yufei TAO and Prof. Chin-Wan CHUNG (KAIST, Korea) won the Best Paper Award at ACM Conference on Management of Data (SIGMOD) 2013 (7/2013)
'Binocular Tone Mapping' Provides High-quality 3D Images at a Low-cost (3/2013)
Dr. Xiao Liu won the EDAA Outstanding Dissertation Award 2012 (3/2013)
Mr. Li Ping won the First Runner-up in the 6th Postgraduate Paper Contest of IEEE (Hong Kong) Computational Intelligence Chapter (8/2012)
Prof. Michael Rung-Tsong Lyu, Prof. Irwin King and Dr. Hongbo Deng won the Vannevar Bush Best Paper Award at JCDL 2012 (6/2012)
Dr. Zheng Zibin received the Faculty's Outstanding Thesis Award 2011 (6/2012)
Prof. Ada Fu received the Most Influential Paper Award from PAKDD (2012)
CUHK Faculty of Engineering Achieved Breakthrough in Image Motion Deblurring Technology
Mr. Ben Fung and Prof. Patrick Lee won the Best Paper Award in the 10th IEEE International Conference on Trust, Security and Privacy in Computing and Communications (IEEE TrustCom-11)
Dr. Haiqin Yang Received First Prize in the IEEE Hong Kong Section PG Student Paper Contest
Prof. Michael Rung-Tsong Lyu has been Co-Awarded the 2010 IEEE Reliability Society Engineer of the Year Award
Mr. Li Liang received the Outstanding Thesis Award 2010
Mr Wenhao Chen received the Best Student Paper Award in the 11th International Conference on Web-Age Information Management (WAIM 2010) (8/2010)
Mr. Zibin Zheng and Mr. Yilei Zhang received Best Student Paper Award in ICWS 2010 (7/2010)
Prof. Michael Rung-Tsong Lyu and Mr. Zibin Zheng as the First Hong Kong Winners of the ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Award at ICSE 2010 (5/2010)
Mr. Zibin Zheng has been awarded the IBM Ph.D. Fellowship
Prof. John C.S. Lui Conferred ACM and IEEE Fellowships
Prof. Fu Wai-chee Ada received the Influential Paper Award at the 25th IEEE International Conference on Data Engineering (ICDE) (2009)
Mr. Yung Chun Kong has been selected as the winner of the Faculty's Outstanding Thesis Award 2009 (1/2010)
Dr. Zhu Jianke has been selected as the winner of the Faculty's Outstanding Thesis Award 2009 (1/2010)
Dr. XIAO Xiaokui has been selected as the Winner of Physical/Mathematical Science for 2009 Young Scientist Awards by Hong Kong Institution of Science.(11/2009)
Mr. LIU Xiaopei won the First Prize of IEEE (Hong Kong) Postgraduate Student Research Paper Competition 2009 (9/2009)
Prof. Patrick P.C. LEE received the best paper in ACM CoNext 2008 (2008)
Prof. Shengyu ZHANG received the best paper award in ICALP 2008 (2008)
Prof. Lap Chi LAU received the CMS 2007 Doctoral Prize (2008)
CSE Student Li XU has received the Microsoft Research Asia Fellowship Award (8/2008)
Chun Hok Ho, Chi Wai Yu, Philip Leong, Wayne Luk and Steven Wilton received the Stamatis Vassiliadis Award for Outstanding Paper in the International Conference on Field Programmable Logic and Applications (FPL) in Amsterdam (8/2007)
L. Zhou, WC Tang, and David Y.L. Wu received the Celoxica Best Paper Award of International South Programmable Logic Conference (2/2007)
  The CS&E Department at CUHK achieves the "best" research performance among all CS (or CSE) departments in Hong Kong universities. (3/2007)
Mr. Jiang Wenjie received the Award for the Best Research Output by Research Post-graduate Students 2005 (3/2006)
Mr. Chen Jiansheng won the Second Prize of Motorola Best Student Paper in the IAPR International Conference on Biometrics 2006 (1/2006)
C.T. Chow, L.S.M. Tsui and P.H.W. Leong won the Best Paper Award at the IEEE 2005 Conference on Field-Programmable Technology (FPT'05) (12/2005)
Mr. Joe Jiang won the Best Student Paper in the IFIP WG 7.3 Performance 2005 Conference (10/2005)
Scientists of the Department won the Best Paper Award in the 8th Pacific Rim International Workshop on Multi-Agents, PRIMA 2005 (9/2005)
Mr. Choi Chiu Wo won the First Award in the IEE Hong Kong Younger Members Exhibition / Conference 2005 (7/2005)
Prof. Tien-Tsin Wong and Prof. Pheng-Ann Heng won the prestigious IEEE Transactions on Multimedia Prize Paper Award
Professor Andrew Chi-chih Yao, world-renowned computer scientist, has joined our Department as Distinguished Professor-at-Large. Prof. Yao is the only Chinese being awarded the prestigious Turing Award which is regarded as the Nobel Prize of Computer Science, in recognition of his fundamental contributions to the theory of computation. (1/2005)