Research Excellence

Prof. Michael Rung-Tsong Lyu has been Co-Awarded the 2010 IEEE Reliability Society Engineer of the Year Award

Dr. Michael Rung-Tsong Lyu, Professor at the Computer Science & Engineering Department of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, has been co-awarded the distinction of 2010 IEEE Reliability Society Engineer of the Year Award by the IEEE Reliability Society. With monetary recognition, Engineering of the Year Award is one of the highest awards offered from the IEEE Reliability Society. The IEEE Reliability Society is one of the 43 Societies and Councils in IEEE. The IEEE supports the technical and professional interests of over 400,000 members in 160 countries. It publishes a third of the world's literature in the electrical engineering and computer science fields, sponsors over 1100 conferences each year, and has an active portfolio of nearly 1,300 industry standards and projects under development.

 

The honor of being named IEEE Reliability Society Engineer of the Year Award recognizes an individual for key contributions to the reliability profession within the last few years, including: reliability technical contributions, reliability management contributions, reliability publications, contributions to reliability education, IEEE Reliability Society Service, and other IEEE service positions.

 

Prof. Lyu was cited for his "achievements in software reliability modeling, measurement, and engineering." Prof. Lyu is an international expert in the area of software reliability engineering, including software reliability design, testing, modeling and analysis. He proposed a number of innovative design and evaluation schemes for software engineering and fault tolerance, and he initiated software reliability modeling and measurement efforts which were widely adopted by researchers and practitioners. Prof. Lyu has published close to 400 publications in his research areas, including software reliability, software engineering, dependable computing, distributed systems, data mining, social networks, information retrieval, and multimedia techniques. He was also elected to IEEE Fellow in 2004.

 

Founded in 1884, IEEE, an association dedicated to advancing innovation and technological excellence for the benefit of humanity, is the world's largest technical professional society. It is designed to serve professionals involved in all aspects of the electrical, electronic, and computing fields and related areas of science and technology that underlie modern civilization.

卓越研究

呂榮聰教授同獲2010 IEEE Reliability Society頒發年度工桯師大獎

香港中文大學計算機科學及工程學系呂榮聰教授與另一科研人員同獲IEEE Reliability Society頒發2010 IEEE Reliability Society年度工桯師大獎。此獎項含獎勵現金,是IEEE Reliability Society頒發之最高榮譽之一。IEEE Reliability Society是電機電子工程師學會轄下之學會及委員會之一。電機電子工程師學會為全球160個國家超過400,000個會員提供技術支援及專業。它出版全球三分之一的電子工程及計算機科學刊物,每年贊助超過1100個會議,更積極研究發展,目前有接近1300項計劃及行業標準正在設立。

 

榮獲IEEE Reliability Society年度工程師大獎,代表過去數年於可靠性行業有傑出貢獻。這些貢獻可包括︰可靠性技術貢獻、可靠性管理貢獻、可靠性刊物、可靠性教育貢獻、IEEE可靠性及其他IEEE服務職位。

 

呂教授以其「軟件可靠性模型、度量及工程中的成就」而獲獎。呂教授乃軟件可靠性工程學的國際專家。軟件可靠性工程學包括軟件可靠性設計、測試、造模型及分析。他提出多個軟件工程學及偵錯創新設計及評估計劃。他開發之軟件可靠性模型,獲研究人員及行內從業員廣泛採用。呂教授已出版了接近400篇與其研究項目有關之刊物,內容包括軟件可靠性、軟件工程學、可靠電腦運作、分佈式系統、數據挖掘、社會網絡、信息檢索及多媒體技術。他於2004年當選為電機電子工程師學會會士。

 

電機電子工程師學會於1884年成立。其致力提升科技水平,研發創新技術,造福社會,惠澤世人。它是全球最大的專業技術學會,旨在服務所有電子、電機與計算機行業,以及其他相關之科學及科技領域。