Hall of Fame

Computer Engineering & Computer Science students won the First Prize & Second Prize in 2010 Intel Cup Embedded System Design Invitational Contest

2010 Intel Cup Undergraduate Electronic Design Contest - Embedded System Design Invitational Contest invited 76 universities and 165 team from China mainland, Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia, Vietnam, Turkey, Ukraine, Mexico and the United States. During July 15th and 21st, 2010, the Expert Group reviewed the designs, and proposed one team as Intel Cup winner, 13 teams for first prize, 27 teams for second prize and 60 teams for third prize.

 

Chan Chun Wing (CE), Chan Hiu Yu (CE) & Zhang Qi (CS) coached by Professor Xu Qiang, won the First Prize with the project "Improving Exercise Bike Experience with Google Street View and Virtual Reality". Cycling is one of the best forms of exercise available. As cycling is often affected by the weather and available places, many people prefer cycling at home on exercise bikes. However, prolonged cycling on an exercise bike could be very boring.? The aim of this project is to provide a better exercise bike experience. The user can cycle on any road around the world with the Google Street View scene updating according to the cycling speed detected by the rotary encoder. With the digital compass and the accelerometer working together, the computer can detect the movement and orientation of the user's head and update the scene in real time. Together with the video eye-wear, a virtual reality experience is achieved.

 

Lam Ka Chun (CE), Li Yan Kit (CE) & Ding Qian (CS) coached by Professor Xu Qiang, won the Second Prize with the project "Video Conferencing System - Focus to Speaker". Video conferencing is becoming popular in multinational companies. Focusing to the one speaking among the group can help to deliver messages clearer. Therefore, we planned to use Intel embedded platform to build a low-cost and convenient video conferencing system. Voice activated switches are used to signal the system who is speaking and two IR cameras are used for positioning. With the result, our system can control a PTZ camera accordingly to focus to the speaker. The camera can stay focus to one speaker and follow his/her motion.

榮譽榜

計算機科學及工程學系學生於2010年英特爾盃大學生電子設計競賽獲一等獎及二等獎

2010年英特爾盃大學生電子設計競賽中的嵌入式系統專題邀請賽 (Embedded System Design Invitational Contest) 邀請了76所大學的165隊參賽。它們來自世界各地,包括: 中國內地、香港、新加坡、馬來西亞、越南、土耳其、烏克蘭、墨西哥及美國。2010年7月15至21日期間,專家評審團品評各隊設計,並選出一隊作為英特爾盃得主。同時,13隊獲一等獎,27隊獲二等獎,60隊獲三等獎。

 

 

陳雋永(計算機工程)、陳曉裕(計算機工程)及張琦在徐強教授的帶領下,以其設計項目「Improving Exercise Bike Experience with Google Street View and Virtual Reality」勇奪一等獎。騎單車是最佳的運動方法之一。這項運動常受天氣及場地影響,使許多人寧願在家踏單車機。不過,長時間騎單車可能非常沉悶。而此項目正旨在改善騎單車的體驗。項目使用者能以回轉式解碼器偵測單車之行車速度,加上隨之不斷更新的Google Street View影像,於世界任何道路騎單車。裝備了電子羅盤和加速計,電腦就能偵測項目使用者頭部的移動和方向,而且能實時更新場景。同時戴上視頻眼鏡,體驗虛擬現實。

 

林家俊(計算機工程)、李仁傑(計算機工程)及丁乾(計算機科學) 在徐強教授的帶領下,以其設計項目「Video Conferencing System - Focus to Speaker」勇奪二等獎。視像會議在跨國企業裡的應用日益普及,使用時若聚焦於正在說話的人能有助更清楚傳遞信息。因此我們計劃了使用英特爾內嵌的平台,以建立一個既低成本且方便使用的視像會議系統。系統安裝了一系列聲控按鈕來讓其知悉誰人在說話,以及兩個紅外線鏡頭以偵測位置。得出結果後,系統就可以依情況控制一個PTZ攝影機來對焦正在講話的人,並隨其移動。