Research Excellence

Prof. John C.S. Lui Conferred ACM and IEEE Fellowships

Prof. John C.S. Lui, Chairman of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, has been elected fellow by two prestigious engineering organizations, Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

 

The ACM Fellows Program was established in 1993 with the aim of honouring ACM members who have outstanding technical and professional achievements in information technology. In 2009, 47 scholars were elected ACM fellows worldwide and Professor Lui is the only one from China. The honour recognizes his extraordinary contributions to stochastic analysis of parallel storage and communication systems. IEEE, the world's largest professional organization, has also elected Professor Lui as a 2010 fellow in recognition of his outstanding contributions to performance modelling and analysis of storage communication systems and peer-to-peer networks. IEEE has more than 375,000 members in over 160 countries worldwide, all playing a vital role in computer science, electronic engineering, telecommunications and engineering.

 

Prof. Lui said, "I am deeply humbled by the election of ACM and IEEE. In addition, it is a privilege that I can work in CUHK with many colleagues who are transformative figures in science and engineering."

 

Prof. Lui's research interests are communication networks, network/system security, network economics, large scale distributed systems, mathematical optimization and performance evaluation theory. He currently leads the "Advanced Networking and System Research Group" formed by research students and post-doctoral fellows to work on networking research problems.

卓越研究

呂自成教授被授予美國電腦協會(ACM)和電氣及電子工程師學會(IEEE)院士

電腦與工程系系主任呂自成教授,被評選為兩所極具聲望的機構 – 美國電腦協會(ACM)和電氣及電子工程師學會(IEEE)的院士。

 

美國電腦學會院士計畫成立于1993年,旨在表彰學會成員在資訊技術領域的卓越技術和專業成就。2009年,全球共有47名學者入選為ACM成員,LUI教授是唯一來自中國的成員。這一項榮譽肯定了他在並行記憶體的概率性分析和通訊系統方面的所作的卓越貢獻。 電機電子工程師學會(IEEE),世界上最大的工程師專業組織,也於2010年評選LUI教授該學會院士,以表彰他在存儲通訊系統和點對點網路性能的建模和分析方面的突出貢獻。IEEE在全世界160多個國家有超過375000名成員,所有成員均在電腦科學,電子工程,電信與工程領域扮演著重要角色。

 

呂教授表示:“對於入選ACM和IEEE院士,我深感榮幸。此外,能夠在香港中文大學與這麼多在科學與工程學方面舉足輕重的同事們共事,實在是我的榮幸。”

 

呂教授的研究領域包括通信網路,網路/系統安全,網路經濟學,大規模分散式系統,數學優化和性能評估理論。目前,他領導由研究生和博士後組成的“高級網路和系統研究小組”,從事網路方面的研究。