Research Excellence

Dr. XIAO Xiaokui has been selected as the Winner of Physical/Mathematical Science for 2009 Young Scientist Awards by Hong Kong Institution of Science (11/2009)

Congratulation to Dr. XIAO Xiaokui, a PhD student supervised by Prof. Tao Yufei, has been selected as the Winner of Physical/Mathematical Science for 2009 Young Scientist Awards by Hong Kong Institution of Science.

 

The Hong Kong Institution of Science (HKIS) was established in 1992 to foster the development of science in Hong Kong and to facilitate the development of links with scientific communities in the Chinese mainland, Taiwan and overseas. The Institution has nearly 400 members covering the fields of physical science, life science, engineering science and mathematics. It has been taking an active role in supporting the development of innovation and technology in Hong Kong.

 

Numerous organizations, like census bureaus and hospitals, maintain large collections of personal information (e.g., census data and medical records). Such data collections are of significant research value, and there is much benefit in making them publicly available. Nevertheless, as the data is sensitive in nature, proper measures must be taken to ensure that its publication does not endanger the privacy of the individuals that contributed the data. A canonical solution to this problem is to modify the data before releasing it to the public, such that the modification prevents inference of private information while retaining statistical characteristics of the data.

 

Dr. XIAO Xiaokui's paper entitled " Privacy preserving data publishing" has focused on developing practical modification techniques for privacy preserving data publishing. He explored various aspects of the problem, based on which he devised novel solutions that address important issues overlooked by previous work. The effectiveness and efficiency of his solutions were demonstrated in extensive experiments with real data.

卓越研究

肖小奎博士被香港科學會評選為2009年物理/數學青年科學家 (11/2009)

祝賀肖小奎博士(陶宇飛教授指導的博士生),被評選為香港科學會物理/數學“青年科學家”。

 

香港科學會成立於1992年,旨在促進香港科學發展和促進與中國內地、臺灣以及海外的科學界的聯繫發展。學會擁有接近400名成員,這些成員涵蓋的領域有物理,生命科學,工程學以及數學。學會一直以來在支持香港的創新和科技發展方面發揮了積極作用。

 

許多機構,譬如人口普查局和醫院,都持有大量的個人資料集(例如戶口普查資料和醫療記錄)。這樣的資料集是有重要的研究價值的,讓這些資料予以公佈是有許多好處的。然而,因為這些資料在性質上是很敏感的,所以應該採取適當的措施來保證它的公佈沒有危及貢獻資料的個體的隱私。標準的解決方案是,在對公眾發佈之前對相關資料進行修改,那樣,既能防止私人資訊的推斷又能保留資料的統計特徵。

 

肖博士的論文“Privacy preserving data publishing”,研究開發了針對解決上述問題的實用的資料修改技術,用以私隱保護資料發佈。他對該問題的各個方面進行了探索,基於這些研究,他設計了新穎的解決方案,用以解決以前的工作中忽視的重要問題。該方案的有效性和高效性已經由大量的實驗所提供的真實資料證明。