Research Excellence

CSE Student Li XU has received the Microsoft Research Asia Fellowship Award

Mr. Li XU, one of our PhD students in CSE Department under the supervision of Prof. Leo, Jiaya Jia, was awarded the Microsoft Research Asia Fellowship this year (2008-2009). The fellowship program is designed to empower and encourage PhD students in the Asia-Pacific region to realize their potential in computer science-related research as well as recognizing and awarding outstanding PhD students.

 

The fellowship is very competitive. This year, 90 distinguished Ph.D. candidates from 35 leading research universities/institutions were nominated for fellowships. Applicants included candidates from the Mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Australia, Japan, South Korea, and Singapore. Only 29 Ph.D students were selected, 3 in Hong Kong. The Fellowship award in HKSAR is presented by the Bill Gates, the Chairman of Microsoft at the 10th anniversary of Microsoft Research Asia.

 

Besides receiving a grand prize US$6,000 to support research activities, Li XU also have opportunities for internships at Microsoft Research Asia (Beijing). A Microsoft Research Asia Fellowship opens a window of opportunity for outstanding PhD Students in Asia-Pacific region, giving them a springboard to get a head start in their future research career.

卓越研究

徐立同學榮獲微軟亞洲研究院獎學金

賈佳亞教授指導的博士生徐立同學,榮獲2008-2009年度微軟亞洲研究院獎學金。該獎學金計畫的設立是為了獎勵並鼓勵亞太地區的博士生,發現並認可他們在電腦科學及其相關領域的學術潛力。

 

此項獎學金的競爭異常激烈。今年有來自35所領先水準的大學/研究所的90名優秀的博士候選人被提名該獎學金。申請者包括候選人分別來自中國內地,香港,臺灣,澳大利亞,日本,韓國和新加坡。只有29名博士生入選,其中有3名來自香港。該獎學金由微軟的首席執行官比爾蓋茨先生在香港特別行政區微軟亞洲研究院10周年志慶上頒發。

 

徐立同學除了獲得用以支持研究的6,000美元的獎金之外,還有機會到設在北京的微軟亞洲研究所實習。微軟亞洲研究所獎學金為傑出的亞太地區的博士生打開了一個機會之窗,為他們提供一個跳板,讓他們在未來研究生涯中有一個良好開始。