Research Excellence

First Chinese Turing Award Winner Joined our Department As Distinguished Professor-at-Large

Professor Andrew Chi-chih Yao, world-renowned computer scientist and the first Chinese scientist to receive the prestigious Turing Award of the Association for Computing Machinery, the highest honour in computer science, has joined our Department as Distinguished Professor-at-Large.

 

The prestigious Turing Award is presented annually by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) to a selected individual whose contributions are of lasting and major technical importance to the computer field and have propelled the information technology industry. The award, named after Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician considered to be one of the fathers of modern computer science, is regarded as the Nobel Prize of computer science. As a winner of the Award, Professor Yao's profound contributions to the advancement of computer science and technology is widely recognized worldwide. ( http://www.acm.org/awards/taward.html)

 

Professor Yao was born in Shanghai, China. He completed his undergraduate education in physics at Taiwan University and furthered his studies at Harvard University. After he was awarded a PhD degree in physics from Harvard University in 1972, he decided to switch to computer science, foreseeing the unprecedented changes that computer science would bring to the global community. In 1975, he received his second PhD, in computer science, from the University of Illinois. After teaching and researching at MIT (1975-1976), Stanford University (1976-1981, 1982-1986) and UC Berkeley (1981-1982), he joined Princeton University in 1986 as the William and Edna Macaleer Professor of Engineering and Applied Science. In 2004, he became a Professor of Computer Science at Tsinghua University in Beijing.

 

Professor Yao was awarded the Turing Award in 2000, "in recognition of his fundamental contributions to the theory of computation, including the complexity-based theory of pseudorandom number generation, cryptography, and communication complexity". His research activities are in the design of efficient computer algorithms, and complexity theories in emerging new areas of theoretical computer science, such as quantum communication and computing. A prolific scientist, Professor Yao has published over 100 articles in these areas and brought ground-breaking developments to computer science.

 

A world-leading computer scientist, Professor Yao has received numerous honours and awards. Before the Turing Award, he had won two prestigious awards: the George Polya Prize and the first Donald E. Knuth Prize. He received an Honorary Doctor of Science degree from City University of Hong Kong in 2003, and an Honorary Doctor of Engineering degree from Hong Kong University of Science and Technology in 2004. Professor Yao is a member of the US Academy of Sciences, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a member of Academia Sinica in Taipei. He was recently elected a foreign fellow of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

卓越研究

首位華人杜林獎得主姚期智教授加入本系成為博文講座教授

姚期智教授加入本系成為博文講座教授。姚期智教授為世界知名的計算機科學家,是首位榮獲杜林獎的華人,杜林獎由計算機協會(ACM)頒發,是計算機科學界最高榮譽。

 

杜林獎計算機協會每年頒發一次,只頒與一位選出的科學家,旨在嘉許得獎者對計算機事業的技術貢獻深遠而卓越,而且推動資訊科技工業發展。這項榮譽之名取 自艾倫·圖靈 (Alan Turing),這位英國數學家和現代計算機科學的奠基者。杜林獎有「計算機科學的諾貝爾獎」之稱,學術地位一如諾貝爾獎。姚教授獲杜林獎,是教授在計算 機科技發展的貢獻為世界認可的證明。(http://www.acm.org/awards/taward.html)

 

姚期智教授生於上海,在臺灣大學修畢物理學士學位後,遠赴美國哈佛大學深造,1972年取得哈佛大學物理學博士學位。其後,姚教授預想到計算機科學會為 世界帶來前所未見的巨變,從而決心轉到計算機科學,於1975年在伊利諾大學取得第二個博士學位--計算機科學博士學位。之後, 他先後在麻省理工學院(1975-1976)、史丹福大學(1976-1981,1982-1986)、加州大學柏克萊分校(1981-1982)等著名 高等學府從事教學與研究,1986年出任美國普林斯頓大學威廉及愛娜麥克里工程及應用科學講座教授。2004年轉到北京清華大學出任計算機科學講座教授。

 

為嘉許姚教授「對計算理論作出了根本性而意義重大的貢獻,其中包括基於複雜性的亂數生成理論、密碼學和通信複雜性」,教授於2000年獲頒杜林獎。姚教 授專研究高效計算機演算法和計算機科學的新興領域的複雜性理論,如量子通訊和計算等。姚教授十分多產,發表學術論文逾百篇,覆蓋了計算複雜性理論的多方 面,為計算機科學帶來開創性的發展。

 

姚教授是世界頂尖的計算機科學家,獲獎無數、屢獲殊榮。獲頒杜林獎前,姚教授已獲得兩項大獎:波里亞獎(George Polya Prize)和首屆克努特獎(Donald E. Knuth Prize)。姚教授2003年獲城市大學頒授榮譽理學博士學位,2004年獲香港科技大學頒授榮譽工程學博士學位。姚教授為美國科學院院士、美國人文及 科學 院院士,以及台灣中央研究院院士。最近當選為中國科學院外籍院士。